Lafontaine, Oskar

© Archiv der sozialen Demokratie, Bonn

German politician (SPD, WASG, The Left)
For some years Brandt’s candidate of choice as successor at the head of the SPD

  • 1943 born
  • 1966-2005 Member of the SPD
  • 1976-1985 Mayor of Saarbrücken
  • 1985-1998 Minister-President of the Saarland
  • 1990 Chancellor Candidate of the SPD
  • 1995-1999 Chairman of the SPD
  • 1998-1999 Federal Minister of Finance
  • 2005 Change of parties to the Electoral Alternative for Labour & social Justice (WASG)
  • 2005-2009 Chairman of the Bundestag fraction PDS/WASG or The Left
  • 2007-2011 Party Chairman of The Left
  • Since 2009 Chairman of the regional parliamentary fraction of The Left in the Saarland
Index of References
International statesman without government office 1975-1982

Dedicated European and German Patriot 1983-1992


Back to top